Starting with Lightroom

I have been taking tons of photos on my travels, but because my camera isn’t the best and also because I have absolutely no idea how to play with Iso and shutter speed etc, my pictures don’t turn out the way I envision them to be. Also, somehow what I actually see and what turns up in my photos greatly differs, which is quite sad.

Enter Lightroom to (possibly) save the day!

Screen Shot 2016-03-01 at 1.21.09 PM.png
Taking my photography further. 

I got introduced to Lightroom by one of my friends who recently started his own photography company.

According to my understanding, basically the difference between lightroom and photoshop is that lightroom is for milder editing, and photoshop is for intense edits. I think lightroom would be sufficient for noobers like me.

Decided to try the 30 day trial instead of straight out buying it because it costs 13 USD a month to have this software. Quite affordable actually if you think about it, but it’s expense I would wanna spare if possible – it’s not like i’ll be using it every single day or every month for that matter.

Day 1

I started with their own introduction video guide here for absolute noobers, which is pretty good. If you don’t wanna waste your time watching ALL the videos, just start from the 5th one (Simple Steps to Improving your photo in Lightroom)

Here’s the summary of the first 4 vids which are pretty intuitive.

  1. Tabs at the top – Library and Develop are 99% of what you need. Maps is for location (e.g. all my photos from Europe).
  2. Import photos from your library by clicking the Library Tab and then going to the bar on the left which shows various libraries on your hard drive and import from there.
  3. You can organise your photos in the left bar.

Let’s get to starting with Lightroom! (I’ll be typing this in real time as I figure my way around)

1.29 pm: Okay… I excitedly opened Lightroom but I got stuck the moment I tried to import photos. After I updated my Mac Os, my photo library switched from iPhotos to Photos. Photos has been giving me a hell lot of problems, because somehow it cannot be detected as a photo library source that I can select.

Screen Shot 2016-03-01 at 1.30.33 PM.png
Photos library nowhere to be found. Where do I start now. 
Screen Shot 2016-03-01 at 1.35.18 PM.png
No Photos Library. Yay.

1: 34 pm: Consulting Mr Google.

1:36 pm: Hell, even googling it is hard! “How to import from Photos to Lightroom” just gives information about general photos and not the Photos app. Trying to google more wisely.

1:40 pm: Found one complicated solution to my problem. I H8 you Photos.

Screen Shot 2016-03-01 at 1.40.13 PM

1:45 pm: It doesn’t discriminate against Photos and videos so I’m importing both into the library. and My 2016 Alias file is split into parts 1 and 2 so I am having to import it separately. Life is tough.

1:48 pm: I am going to try to just import everything to Picasa and then working from there.

1:52 pm: omg yasssssss! I can select the icon!

Screen Shot 2016-03-01 at 1.52.08 PM.png
Being able to actually select the Photos Library for once feels good.

1:53 pm: This isn’t working either.

Screen Shot 2016-03-01 at 1.58.12 PM.png
The sight of crumbling hopes and dreams.

2:00 pm: This “live update” is not working. I am constantly getting stuck. I am calling it a day for now. Part 2 will come when I’ve figured stuff out. I hate being a noob sometimes.

 

Leave a Reply

